ECDL Syllabus 5 (XP) – European Computer Driving Licence

The European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) is a relevant and internationally recognised qualification for computer users.

ECDL improves your understanding and efficient use of computers. The course opens up a variety of opportunities through the broad range of skills it provides.

No prior knowledge of IT or skill in computing is needed to study ECDL; it is designed for people wishing to gain a benchmark qualification in computing to enhance their career prospects or for personal development.

ECDL offers flexible courses and patterns of study, and is designed for novice and intermediate computer users.

The ECDL course consists of the following modules:

Module 1 – Security for IT Users
Module 2 – IT User Fundamentals
Module 3 – Word Processing
Module 4 – Spreadsheets
Module 5 – Database Software
Module 6 – Presentation Software
Module 7 – Using E-mail and the Internet

Learners also get access to the Improving Productivity module, which teaches learners about ways in which you can use Information Technology (IT) skills to improve productivity at work. The module shows how you can work more efficiently by planning the use of IT tools and systems, finding out if the tools or systems you had chosen were appropriate for achieving your goal, and then by finding solutions to work faster when using the same tools.

The BCS and ECDL Portfolio of qualifications has been designed to map directly into ITQ so that when you gain a BCS or ECDL certificate you will also be receiving ITQ certification. ITQ is a portfolio of qualifications which replaced the National Vocational Qualifications (NVQ) for IT and computing. It is a nationally-recognised programme which has been designed by employers to meet the needs of today’s businesses.

Please Note: This courseware is only relevant for learners undertaking the tests in the UK.

This course can lead to external certification if the student chooses – i.e. the student must taken an external exam at an accredited centre (Please Note: an independent charge may be levied by the chosen test centre).

This course covers the following modules:

1. Security for IT Users (Level 1)
– System Performance Security
– Information Security
– Technology Security
– Guidelines and Procedures
– Data Security

2. IT User Fundamentals (Level 1)
– Operating System
– File Management
– Maintain Systems
– Print Management
– Health and Safety
– Security
– Law

3. Word Processing (Level 2)
– Using the Application
– Document Creation
– Formatting
– Objects
– Mail Merge
– Prepare Outputs

4. Spreadsheets (Level 2)
– Using the Application
– Cells
– Managing Worksheets
– Formulas and Functions
– Formatting
– Charts
– Prepare Outputs

5. Database Software (Level 2)
– Understanding Databases
– Using the Application
– Tables
– Retrieving Information
– Objects
– Outputs

6. Presentation Software (Level 2)
– Using the Application
– Developing a Presentation
– Text
– Charts
– Graphical Objects
– Prepare Outputs

7. Using E-mail and the Internet (Level 1)
– The Internet
– Using the Browser
– Using the Web
– Web Outputs
– Electronic Communication
– Using Email
– Email Management

The Improving Productivity module covers the following topics:
– Planning, Selecting and Using IT Systems
– Reviewing Ongoing Use of IT
– Developing Solutions to Improve Productivity
The qualification is widely recognised by employers as proof of ability and competence when working with IT.

The skills gained over the course of the qualification will not only improve your career options, but take the frustration out of using your computer on an everyday basis by boosting both your efficiency and your confidence.